Everything Changes

7 01 2012

I can still remember the way the air smelled back home in rural Hunterdon County, NJ, when I was a kid at age 6 or 7.  I remember going outside barefoot in the morning to look for cicadas hatching.  The air smelled so fresh and crisp.  It smelled alive.  It reminded me of what Heaven might smell like.  Sometime not too long after, the freshness and crispness seemed to die out.  It never faded from my memory though. I always wondered why it was lost.  I figured it was something with my nose that had changed.   Last night, after returning home from a recording session with my bandmate, I stepped out of the car and smelled a hint of that fresh crispness in the air.  I don’t know if it was the change of diet, the change of my attitude or both, or neither, but words cannot explain how nice it was to smell the air like that again.  And bananas…. I don’t know if it is just that this bunch is extra delicious, but I suspect that it is my taste changing.  Flavors are more clear and these bananas are extremely sweet.  I don’t ever remember a banana tasting so good.

Made a vegetarian taco salad in a lettuce leaf bowl for dinner last night.  I’d been craving a taco salad all week.  It was pretty good but I’d be lying if I said it was anywhere as good as having one with beef or ground turkey.  I am missing meat but until I have my health issues straightened out, this seems like the best way to go.  I was pretty extreme in amassing all this weight so i’ll need to be extreme (for awhile at least) in getting free of it.

I found a bunch of vegetarian/vegan cooking shows that I’m going to DVR.  I’m hoping that it will give me some ideas to make things taste better and add variety to what I’m already making.  That’s what I’m lacking now, a guru for this type of living ~ someone who can show me how to keep it all interesting (and maybe even tasty).


Actions

Information

2 responses

16 01 2012
Sharolyn Lesso

Hello, I enjoy your blog. Is there something I can do to receive updates like a subscription or some thing? I’m sorry I am not acquainted with RSS? http://www.ctctradeshows.com

18 01 2012
johnnygee77

If you sign into wordpress.com, you can find my blog and click the “follow” button. I’m new to this. Thanks for checking it out and enjoying it enough to follow along.

Leave a Reply

