Oh My God, It’s Broccoli Rabe!

12 01 2012

This time of year broccoli rabe is dinner or lunch at least once or twice a week.  Even before I was eating healthy, I was loving this.  For as long as I can remember the rabe was part of extended family holiday dinners.  It’s an Italian favorite but definitely an acquired taste.  Rabe is part of the mustard family and can be fairly bitter.  Generally it’s made by dropping it into boiling water (this reduces the bitter flavor) for about 2 minutes and then adding garlic and sautéing it with olive oil.  Red pepper is also a nice addition and can counter some of the bitterness.  I forgo the boiling water and just sauté it as I have come to really enjoy the taste.  Broccoli rabe also makes an interesting pizza topping.  Man, pizza….I’d kill for some pizza right about now.  Anyhow it’s broccoli rabe season from October through spring so give it a try.  It’s available year round but it is really especially good this time of year.  It’s packed with antioxidants, calcium and is a good source of iron.  It’s also perfect for weight loss.  Here’s a picture of today’s lunch:

Tried something new last night.  Made chicken marsala using meatless-chicken tenders.  I thought it was very good.  Just another meal that I can throw into the rotation every once in awhile to keep things interesting.

My weight has leveled off these last two days.  It just means I have to hit the exercise regiment a little harder.  I won’t let myself become too discouraged.  The way I’m living now is preferable to how I was living.  I weigh a little less, have a whole lot more energy and feel good about what I’m putting in my body.  I wish I could get more excited about what I’m eating but hopefully as I develop more meal ideas this too will improve.  Stuffed peppers tonight and I’m looking forward to that!


Actions

Information

2 responses

12 01 2012
Jess G

Wow! That looks awesome. Here’s a great salad idea: buffalo chicken tenders (soy), artichoke hearts, cherry tomatoes, edamame, and avocado. I also cut up one string cheese and throw it in there (not sure if cheese is allowed on your regimen).

I was inspired by the picture of your taco salad last week and Ant and I will be doing that in the near future. Keep it up!

12 01 2012
johnnygee77

Thanks Jess! No cheese for me right now. Thanks for the recipe though. Yeah, that taco salad is really good. I’m gonna make that again soon.

Leave a Reply

