Oh Paula, How Could You?

18 01 2012

I have to admit, I’ve never been a big Paula Deen fan.  I don’t buy her schtick with all that down home southern charm.  When I see her on TV, I see $ in her eyes. I could be totally wrong but this is how she strikes me.  Even when I was eating like a complete nitwit, I didn’t appreciate the fact that she was peddling to the masses over the top recipes filled with pounds of bacon, butter and sugar.  Look at this burger for instance.  This is a signature dish of hers.   It’s topped with an egg and bacon and has GLAZED DONUTS as the buns!!!!  So it’s no wonder that if she actually eats like this, she would end up with diabetes.  What you put in is what you get out.

I’m peeved that she waited over three years to admit she had diabetes, despite media reports sporadically speculating that she did.  While annually making $4-10 million per year, she has continued to promote a lifestyle that leads to major health problems, at least one of which she currently suffers from.   I’m more peeved that she said her show is just entertainment and that although she cuts back on some of the ingredients when she makes her own food, she doesn’t let diabetes affect what she eats.  Instead she takes meds.  And now she is a spokesperson for big pharma.  That’s what peeves me the most.  The gravy train keeps going because now she is in bed with a pharmaceutical company championing this as the solution for people who have diabetes.  Just take this pill or this injection for the rest of your life.  I’m peeved that such a professional foodie has not figured out in over three years that a plant based diet can very often completely reverse diabetes.  I’d bet Paula’s big pharma check that I can reverse my type II diabetes in 6 months or at the very least, get better results than I would being on the medication that she is peddling.  I love that she told Al Roker today in an interview that she would be with us every step of the way, helping us manage our diabetes.  Manage it???  How about helping us get rid of it all together?

There was a tremendous opportunity here for her to completely revamp her image and give something positive back to society by showing the world an easy way to reverse diabetes and lead a healthy life.   Instead she took a big pay check.  Maybe she is really clueless.  I don’t know.  We are all on different journeys and at different paces.  Maybe she will come to a better truth eventually.  Meds are a great option when nothing else is working.  I’m not at all against them.  Meds saved my life when I had a very serious staph infection back in September.  For some, meds may be the only solution.  But to suggest to people that they can continue to do the same things that got them into trouble in the first place and a pill is all they need to make it better is completely irresponsible.  We could erase the health epidemic in this country if more prominent people like Paula Deen would just be honest with us (or get educated themselves).

What do you think?


Actions

Information

18 responses

18 01 2012
Debbie

Like you I was not at all happy that she waited so long to come out and I am even more disgusted that she is not taking diabetes seriously and making changes. She would get so much more press if she made a big announcement, big change, became healthy. But no. Instead she is giving people with diabetes who don’t want to change someone to point to. This is so irresponsible. Can you tell I’m a bit unhappy over this 🙂 Great post. More people need to think about this.

19 01 2012
johnnygee77

Thanks so much for weighing in Debbie! I appreciate you stopping by to take a look.

I really enjoyed perusing your blog today. I’ll becoming back to learn more about this new path that I am on.

Good luck with that Pooch.

all the best to you,
Johnny

18 01 2012
forevervintageblog

I do agree that she should have used her illness to help change other people’s view on healthy eating. She should show people how to make healthier versions of southern cooking. A doughnut hamburger? WTF! haha.

19 01 2012
johnnygee77

Exactly. Is she saying that southerners don’t have healthy food choices? It’s insane.

18 01 2012
Logall

Hopefully, she’ll screw herself in the long run! I hope people see what’s really going on here and quit endorsing her; stop making her recipes, buying her cookbooks, kitchen products, etc. Then we’ll see where she is without $$! I applaud you for taking the higher road, Johnny, you will have true health in your LONG life!

18 01 2012
johnnygee77

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to write that one. I want to stay positive, but then I think if how many people will be swayed by what she says and it makes me angry.

18 01 2012
Logall

Being honest, I have never been a fan of hers, but, I would’ve had a lot more respect for her if she would’ve changed.

18 01 2012
johnnygee77

Absolutely!

18 01 2012
noël jones

nice post, johnny. and nice meeting you at the blogger’s event the other night!

exactly my thoughts when i saw PD interviewed. and it IS a positive post, to call it like it is. in the end, she still collecting royalties on all those books she wrote, and making money as a pharma spokesman too. for all anyone knows, she could be a health diet behind the scenes to try to reverse her condition, and just making money off of everyone else.

kind of the opposite of the appearances i’ve seen Bill Clinton make on the major news networks, talking about the two doctors and their books that helped him turn his heart disease around after his heart attack. i wish i could remember the name of the doctors’ books, but they advocated a diet of mostly plants, and a little bit of protein as a main guiding line.

i’m a big Michael Pollen fan, myself. his rules are basically 1) eat organic, 2) mostly plants, and 3) no ingredients that your grandmother doesn’t recognize.

19 01 2012
johnnygee77

It was great to meet you too. I really hope they do that regularly. You all were very inspiring. I’m just getting my feet wet in the blogosphere so it was really beneficial to meet people who have been doing this for awhile and know some of the ropes.

I’m sure the pharma company is paying her a boatload. I really wish she would have went the other way. It was the perfect time to rebrand herself and it would have been so good for society.

Those are great rules that Michael Pollen has. I don’t know anything about him but I am sure I will soon enough.

19 01 2012
noël jones

Ok, I looked it up, and Bill Clinton’s doctors are Dr. Dean Ornish and Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn Jr.–he’s basically a vegan now, but with a long history of heart disease in his family, he has gotten rid of his heart disease. Here’s the CNN clip where he talks with Dr. Sanjay Gupta about it: http://www.cnn.com/2011/HEALTH/08/18/bill.clinton.diet.vegan/index.html

21 01 2012
michael molovinsky

johnny, i don’t have much knowledge of paula dean, or yet even your blog, but a thought. classic french cooking, ala julia child, is full of butter, cream, etc. you’re on a quest to eat healthier, and i commend you for it. but, whenever i saw paula deen’s cooking show, she never purported that she was cooking healthy, nor is she responsible for anybody’s health or weight problems. there are of course millions of people with diabetes who never saw her show. perhaps we should lighten up on her. mm

21 01 2012
johnnygee77

Michael,
I’m not suggesting the Paula Deen is responsible for America’s health problems and I absolutely believe in personal responsibility. No one put my weight on but me. And frankly if I could continue to eat like I did and remain healthy, I absolutely would.

My objection to Ms. Deen is that for three years she knew she had diabetes and said nothing, all the while trying to peddle a lifestyle that she knew was directly responsible for her condition. And still yet released many books and products, while continuing on her merry way raking in $10 Million last year. Now she has partnered with Big Pharma and her message is basically that people can do what they want to do as long as you manage your condition with the drugs you’ll be fine. Not only is it disingenuous and opportunistic, it’s dangerous. Especially when just the smallest amount of combing the internet would show you that a plant based diet most often times reduces the needd for drugs at all and reverses the condition. But again, that is where personal responsibility comes in. Anyhow, that’s my beef with her. But hey, maybe she’ll go a different direction after her sales drop off. The difference between her and Julia Child is light years. Julia Child never made a meal that consisted solely of fried butter. One was an artist and one is a public health nightmare.

Nice blog by the way, i’ll be checking it out.
Thanks for reading.

21 01 2012
johnnygee77

and thanks Noel for the info. I am familiar with those doctors. This is clearly the wave of the future.

21 01 2012
michael molovinsky

john, i’m not sure that she was trying to “peddle” a lifestyle. while she chose not to make her personal medical issues public, i’m sure she wasn’t saying that donut cheeseburgers are healthy; maybe she said that they were so good, but she didn’t say healthy. i can see the scrutiny concerning a school lunch program, but not tv entertainment- and that’s all these food shows are, entertainment. people watch that zimmerman guy eat monkey brains.

21 01 2012
johnnygee77

She’s been out on the circuit this week with some new healthier recipes including a 7 cheese lasagna with beef and egg. She’s peddling something. You call it entertainment but to me that’s leading sheep to the slaughter. People can not be told to just keep doing what they are doing, take a pill and everything will be okay. I’m arguing she has a greater responsibility. She’s the spokesperson for a diabetic drug and is now touting healthier recopies which clearly aren’t and shouldn’t be consumed by anyone wanting to get better.

21 01 2012
michael molovinsky

john, i just took a cram course on deen, since her announcement. i still believe that you’re assigning too much responsibility to her, in regard to educating people about type 2 diabetes. i also have some familiarity with some people who had very unfortunate results declining conventional medicine in favor of alternative treatment, including diet. i encourage you to continue promoting healthy eating, but we must guard against practicing medicine, especially to others. i’m enjoying your writing, and am sure that your journey will be an inspiration to other people.

21 01 2012
johnnygee77

I think we’ll agree to disagree on this one regarding how much responsibility she should exercise. I do agree though that we must figure out what works for us. Im not against ness. Honestly meds saved me from kicking the bucket with a staph infection not long ago. Who knows, in a few months it might turn out that the change in diet didn’t help me enough and I’ll need meds. Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

