If at First You Don’t Succeed….

22 01 2012

Last night I blew it.  Three slices of meat lovers extra cheese pizza and a piece of the worst bruschetta with fresh mozzarella that I’ve ever eaten.    After nearly a month of eating healthy, I totally dropped the ball and gave into the temptation of ham, bacon, sausage, pepperoni and cheese.  Meat and cheese overload!  Did I really need three slices though?  That’s the sort of eating that got me here in the first place.  Old habits die hard I guess.  I won’t pretend that I’m not a little disgusted with myself but I’m not going to give up either.  We’re all human, sometimes our addictions get the best of us.

The pizza was decent but I wasn’t craving it again today.  Instead I woke up craving celery of all things.  To me that was a good sign.  I’m not sure I’m going to be breaking down for meat anytime again soon .  While my mind seemed to be craving it last night, my taste buds were not exactly doing flips.  Cheese is a tougher one for me.  I’m looking forward to getting back on track.

In reality falling down can be a good thing.  I think I needed to fail a bit last night in order to hit the reset button and be able to buckle down and refocus.  Sometimes it’s alright to give in a little bit.  I think to repeatedly deprive oneself often leads to failure in the end.  That being said it’s a thin line, and missteps can lead to a wellness plan falling completely apart.  Maybe once a month or less, it’s okay to go off course a little for one meal.  Not three pieces off course though, I’m going to try to not let that happen again.

I’ve got a crock of  homemade 13 bean soup on now.  That should be ready before bed and will be lunch or dinner for the next few days.  Also I’ve been slouching for several days with the exercise.  I’m going to start picking up the  pace with it.  I’m going hard this week.  I’m going the distance.  Weigh in tomorrow morning.


Actions

Information

2 responses

23 01 2012
fromherenow

Keep up that positive attitude! Looks like you are making great progress. There wouldn’t be anything to blog about if it was 100% easy. 🙂 We actually screwed up yesterday, too—We’ve been trying (and pretty much succeeding) to eat all local, whole foods, and we ended up getting frozen chicken nuggets for dinner. BUT, as much as I was craving them, they didn’t taste anywhere near as good as I thought they had in the past.

23 01 2012
johnnygee77

What you say about the taste of some of the foods that we used to love is so true. It’s interesting how your tastes change when you are on a plant based diet. I find myself craving a Chik’n burger but not actual chicken. Weird!

Leave a Reply

