Time Weights For No One

16 02 2012

Picked up the phone tonight and ordered a pair of Bowflex adjustable dumbbells.  It’s been 15 long years since I’ve seriously lifted weights but I’ve been wanting to begin again for some time now. I used to be really into weight lifting.  In my freshman year of college, I was able to bench press over 600 pounds (one time and only one time).  In high school, I leg pressed over 1000 pounds 31 times consecutively which was a record there.  There was a plaque on the wall in the school gym commemorating it. When I returned 7 years later, the record was still mine. The stupid things we do for glory. I didn’t walk right for days after that.

From 8th grade through sophomore year of college, I was constantly in the gym and I saw fantastic results come from my hard work.  But as college progressed, lifting was eventually replaced by partying and hanging out and I just lost the drive to drag my ass to the gym 5 days a week. A body at rest really does tend to stay at rest and so it has been.

I’m excited to get back to lifting. I don’t want to hulk up as much as I want to get cut. Cardio is boring me to tears and although I know it is very important, this will be a nice change. In a few months, I might take up swimming again as that is something I’m good at and enjoy doing. But for now, I’m going to really get an intense lifting regiment going. ‘

A friend sent me this next video and it really inspired me.  It really is the recipe for success.  In other facets of my life where I have seen success I recognize that this formula works. No matter if it is lifting weights, training for a race, excelling in a professional career or just being your very best self – the formula for making huge strides really is maximizing your performance in the limited time you have.  Time can be our greatest enemy if we don’t take advantage of it. If we use it wisely and recognize that time is fleeting, it can be our most powerful alley.  I hope this video inspires others the way it did me.  

What is your dream?  What is holding you back? Despite tons of excuses, I was the one holding myself back. I let a lot of time just slip away. That is going to change now.



Actions

Information

3 responses

16 02 2012
Travel Hog

Reblogged this on pamsay.

16 02 2012
johnnygee77

Thanks so much for that!

17 02 2012
Rob

‘you see yourself doing right, and you do right’

Leave a Reply

