And the Train Kept Rolling….

20 02 2012

And so begins week 9 of my switch to a plant based diet.  I lost a pound this past week.   That brings the total to over 46 pounds lost through diet, exercise and sickness.

I wasn’t thrilled with the weight loss this week.  I pushed myself to try to lose 5 pounds so that I could hit an even 50 pounds within 8 weeks and I ended up falling short.  I gave it a good effort but it just didn’t happen.  Maybe this is my ego needing big round numbers.  I should be content with just continuing to lose the weight.  In my mind I think it makes a good story to lose 50 pounds so quick. But the real story is this – losing weight is hard and its really  #$&*!@ frustrating at times.  You think you’ve found your personal formula for success and then weight loss slows down dramatically or stops all together.  I didn’t even want to write this blog today because I was so aggravated.

I knew that five pounds in a week was not going to be easy but I felt that with some discipline it could be done.  I came up with what I thought was a good game plan.  I tried to switch the week up by cutting back the amount of plant based fats I was taking in but honestly it just left me hungry.  I increased my fiber and protein intake but still hungry…  Miserably hungry for the last four days and the scale barely moved when all was said and done.    So I need to work harder, especially physically, if I’m going to be able to sustain the kind of weight loss that I’ve been seeing up until this point.  I really hope my dumbbells I ordered get here soon as I’m eager to throw them around and  I’m starting to hate the treadmill with a passion.  It really is becoming “the dreadmill”.  At least nice weather temps are around the corner which hopefully means a few days walking around the park which will be a pleasant change of scenery.

So after days of feeling overly hungry,  tonight I did  something counterintuitive.  I went to the local buffet.  It’s been two months since I was there and I definitely can’t put it away like I used to nor did I even want to try.  I did enjoy a nice vegetable stirfry and some sushi.  I also had some shrimp.  I feel like my body has been craving meat so I allowed myself a little bit of seafood.  There is definitely some sort of meal with beef in my future.  I thought about tying it a 50 pound weight loss as a reward.  But that sort of thinking got me into this predicament.  Food shouldn’t be a reward, at least not for me, not now.

So yeah, dreaming of beef, even if it is just a piece or two.  For now, I’m just going to increase the B12.  What I did find interesting is that things I would normally get there, like coconut chicken, just weren’t appealing to me in the least.  And if I’m going to eat beef, it’s going to be some place good and not at a buffet.

I’ve got the broccoli rabe soup in the slow cooker.  It’s been going all day and it smells sooooo good.  Pics tomorrow.

Thanks for reading!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

