Goodbye Pills: Life Without a Net

22 02 2012

It’s been 24 hours without these:

Since September, I’ve been eating these things like candy for a staph infection that I was eventually diagnosed with.  It took a month just to find a med that really responded to it, hence all the different ones. The pink ones were for pain as a pimple on the back of my neck had swelled to something about the size of a deck of cards in less than 72 hours. Some of the white ones were to prevent the sepsis (blood poisoning)that was beginning to occur from really taking root. Then the dosage was increased but did little to stop the actual growth. So I was switched to a different and stronger med which still didn’t do the trick. Then I began getting antibiotic shots at my doctors office and again my med was changed (a third different white one). By the time I was finally diagnosed with the staph I had been on 6 different meds. The experience with my general practitioner was very difficult and I had to really fight to advocate for myself. If I hadn’t fought to get a culture done, I’m not sure what would have happened. Luckily I knew some knowledgeable people who were able to help steer me in the right direction.

The experience with my doctor was miserable and honestly I can’t even write about it in the detail that it deserves without feeling the anxiety that surrounded that time start to seep back in. So suffice to say, I found an infectious disease doctor that was quite fantastic and he put me on the blue guys for the last four months. Because the size of my infection was so large and was mostly under the skin in one of the deadliest spots you can get staph (the nape of the neck. The most deadly is on the forehead – all because of blood vessels and relatively easy access to the brain and spine), I had to take 8 of those suckers a day. That was 2400mg a day for three months. I can’t even begin to tell you what this does to a person’s stomach.  I remember my new doctor saying that I was on enough meds to sink a battleship. Gradually I was able to reduce down to half of that dose. Yesterday I stopped all together.

Over the last four months, I have felt decent but there have been times where I thought the staph was coming back. The meds kept everything in check and within hours, pimples that popped up would be gone again. But now, I’m going without that net. It feels really good to be off of meds and I hope that I will never need them again for this. But I am scared like crazy at the same time. Hopeful and scared. Once I get through a week with no problems, I will start feeling better.

As miserable an experience as this was (for a little while there, I truly thought I would be hospitalized and possibly worse) it gave me the push I so desperately needed to try to get my health and wellness in better order. The human body was created to heal itself. It is it’s own best medicine. Taking care of it allows it to better be able to do its job. I’m pretty much doing all that I can to take care of myself now. I really hope the worst is over. It’s an interesting story, but one that I’d rather not have to live through ever again.


Actions

Information

4 responses

22 02 2012
jkenjin

Thank you for your post! Keep up the good job and have a great aloha week!! ^_^

23 02 2012
johnnygee77

Thanks for stopping by to check this site out.

24 02 2012
Melissa Mushlin

Again, my friend, I’m with you. For all of my years on diabetes and blood pressure meds, they never CURED nor HEALED me! God made the human body to heal itself, giving the right nutrients and components such as plant-based foods, exercise, quality water, sunshine, proper sleep and practicing an attitude of gratefulness toward God and forgiveness toward those who have hurt us. Bitterness, anger and resentment do more harm in our bodies than we can possibly imagine. Keep encouraged! One day, maybe sooner than we think, we WILL be off meds, at a healthy weight and completely healthy! I have 40 more pounds to go, but being off meds and having my energy level back is most important to me.

24 02 2012
johnnygee77

Agreed. As humans we want to quantify our results and often that means equating success to weight lost. Realistically though the more important factors are the less tangible ones like how we feel.

Like you, I also feel incorporating a spiritual aspect to the lifestyle change is very beneficial. A multifaceted approach definitely works best for me.

Leave a Reply

