Olfactory Blues

26 02 2012

This may sound crazy. I’ve always had an amazing sense of smell. But my sniffer is definitely changing lately. After two months on a plant based diet, I feel a bit sad to report that beef no longer smells like it used to. I want it to because I love beef, but it doesn’t anymore. The smell of hamburgers being cooked makes me want to be sick. I mean really sick! Like I need to get out of the room before I hurl sick! And the burgers end up looking wonderful and delicious but the smell is becoming an impossible hill to climb. And tonight the smell of fish sticks, a food that I have always loved, smelled more like rotting garbage than fish. I literally had to stick my head in the garbage can to make sure the smell wasn’t coming from there. It probably sounds horrible and overly dramatic but it really is the truth. To my fellow meat eaters, I’m sure I’m really starting to sound like one of those “nutty plant eaters”, but yeah, the longer I do this, the less meat appeals to me. It’s getting to be that I can’t really get past the smell, even if I wanted to eat meat. I really am becoming one of those “nutty plant eaters’ and its one of the best things that has ever happened to me.

I am happy to report that freshly made donuts continue to smell wonderful….not that I’ve had one.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

