The First Step is the Hardest

20 03 2012

And so begins week 13 of my switch to a plant based diet. This week I lost another two pounds bringing the total to roughly 55 pounds in three months.

If you told me 6 months ago that a plant based diet would be the cure for so many things that have ailed me I wouldn’t have believed it. My blood pressure, while not yet perfect has significantly reduced. I have energy like I haven’t had in many years and I’m not crashing in the afternoon anymore. I enjoy walking and have begun lifting weights again. After punching more holes in my belts, I finally broke down and bought a new one. It’s 4 sizes smaller than my last belt and was the smallest size belt offered at the big guy clothing store. This means that I’m just a short time away from buying regular clothes at a regular store. I haven’t done that since 1995. Last night I went out to dinner with my daughter and we sat in a booth, something else I haven’t done comfortably in many years. It’s crazy when I think of how I’ve allowed myself to live (or fail to live as the case may be) for so long now.

I have a very long way to go. One of the hardest parts of this journey still lies in front of me. I know the rest of the weight loss will become increasingly difficult. But I’ve already taken the hardest step. It was the first one when I decided to really make a change.


Actions

Information

2 responses

23 03 2012
lindareinhart

You just keep up the Good work.
You have something to live for.
I’m trying to find something.
Good Luck, Johnny…..

23 03 2012
johnnygee77

We all have something even if it is just for us for the time being. Be well my friend.

Leave a Reply

