A Week of Eating Plant Based

27 03 2012

Enough people have asked me what a typical week of eating plant based foods looks like so I’m going to give you a rough example of mine. As I mentioned yesterday, I’m a creature of habit so this may not offer enough variety for some. But truly, your week’s menu is only limited by your imagination. With the internet, it’s never been easier to go plant based. There are tons of sites for recipes out there. Eat the plant based foods that you like and start building from there. Eating this way, takes time. On a sunday night, it can take up to 90 minutes to prepare veggies to have for lunch that week. It can be a pain but it is worth it. Don’t forget your B12 supplements!

Breakfasts – Cheerios! There are healthier cereals out there I am sure but I’ve always liked these since I was a little guy. I can eat them dry on the go or with coconut milk (I have the unsweetened stuff, try it for a week, you will get used to it). Organic Steel Cut Oats is another option. Raw vegetables or grilled / sauteed zucchini (one of natures most perfect anti-inflammatory foods is the perfect way to start the day). Breakfast is a good time to have fruit. Many mornings I will have a veggie wrap….with mustard!

Lunches – Wraps – I love them (although I admit it’s getting a little old lately). A raw veggie salad with a mustard and balsamic dressing (I go through an amazing amount of lettuce each week). Cabbage, broccoli rabe, lentil or split pea soup. Vegan pad thai or another one of Dr. McDougall’s packaged vegan meals (found in many health food aisles in the grocery store, I try to limit the processed stuff but this doesn’t seem too bad and low sodium options are sometimes available). Sometimes hummus or baba ganoush. Stack of tomato slices with layered basil (I most often go oil-less). Broccoli slaw.

Snacks – raw veggies (peppers, string beans, carrots, cucumbers and/or celery (a negative calorie food). Fruit – an apple a day…., seeds and nuts. Dry roasted edamame (I live on this stuff – high in protein and fiber but not fat). Dry roasted chick peas and similar snack foods can be found at your local Wegmans, Whole Foods or health food shops. Vegan pumpkin muffins, homemade vegan fruit bars.

Dinners – Vegan stuffed peppers with ground soy “meat”, brown rice, quinoa, beans, corn and tomato sauce (make 4 at a time and get several meals out of it). vegan tacos or taco salads. Soups and salads. Black beans (or other) with hot sauce and liquid smoke (a great simple, quick and tasty way to get your protein and fiber). Pasta is an awesome treat when eating this way (just check the labels). Grilled veggie sandwich on crusty italian bread (I’m limiting my bread but this is too good to pass up once a week). Veggie burgers or similar products like chik’n nuggets, hot wings, etc.(read the labels) about once a week for a little variety. Veggie stir fry. Sautéed veggies in veggie broth.

Give it a try for three weeks and see how you feel. I’m willing to bet that if you go completely plant based for three weeks , by the time you are done you will have lost weight, and feel a whole lot better with increased energy and well-being. And if you find that it is not for you, at least your body will be thankful. You can do totally do this, if you put your mind to it.

besides, you don’t want to eat this anymore, do you?:


Actions

Information

5 responses

27 03 2012
Tara Gallus

Some additional food option ideas for your consideration….

– The weather is getting nicer so break out the grill and grill up some veggies! Asparagus is awesome grilled but you can also roast it in the oven as well. Squash, zucchini, eggplant, portobello mushrooms are all great on the grill. I’ve also heard that grilling some fruit is good too but I haven’t tried it myself. Pineapples and peaches are what I’ve heard are good on the grill.
– Roasted veggies in balsamic vinegar. My favorite combo for this is squash, zucchini, mushrooms and onions. Toss with some olive oil and balsamic vinegar. You can add some fresh rosemary or italian seasoning too if you’d like. Roast in oven at about 425 degrees until they reach desired tenderness. Stir veggies every 15 minutes while cooking.
– For the steel cut oats that Johnny mentioned, I usually cook these up according to the directions on the container and have enough for breakfast for about 3 days or so. I add coconut milk to mine and a little brown sugar. Fresh fruit, cinnamon, walnuts, and almonds are good too. These oats make for a very filling breakfast.
– Baked apples are a delicious and sweet treat. Peel apples, cut into chunks, sprinkle with cinnamon, mix, and bake at 375 degrees in the oven until they are tender. They are very sweet and no added sugar is needed.

Johnny’s right that it does take time to prepare the food, but if you take the time to do it, you’ll have food for a few days and it will be much easier on you. Good eating!

1 04 2012
Izzy

Love this post!

Breakfast:

on most mornings I have Ezekiel toast with Banana and Peanut Butter, or just Banana, Apple and Peanut Butter. Sometimes I have cereal but it doesn’t stick with me.

Special mornings I will make whole wheat vegan pancakes with homemade blueberry syrup, or tofu scramble.

Lunch:

When I first became vegan all I ate was veggie and hummus wraps. But they got old real fast.

Now I try to have a hot entree of some sort, like a bowl of soup or something, but before that I eat a big old salad. I do that about 5 days out of the week, but I’m trying for every day.

Snacks are almost always hummus, veggies and whole wheat crackers or pretzels or something. Or some fruit.

1 04 2012
Izzy

Finding a Salad dressing I was absolutely in love with, that replaced Ranch dressing for me was key to me loving salads.

2 04 2012
johnnygee77

Thanks for taking the time to post what you typically eat. This is helpful.

19 04 2012
Corrinne Okie

Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

