Come Fly With Me

4 04 2012

The mind/body connection is an amazing thing. For years now I’ve had dreams where the floor below me crumbles under my weight, where the path is not easy to navigate due to my size or where I must use physical strength that I’m not sure that I possess any longer to overcome a treacherous landscape. In my dreams people have gawked and stared at my size. Sometimes they have made comments under their breath and other times they have just come right out and said horrible things about my weight.

It’s frustrating when the nightmares of the waking hour haunt you in your sleep. And yet for some reason, I was too paralyzed to make the necessary changes during those waking hours to really improve my situation. Sometimes I would try but I quickly met with failure. The light switch in my brain had not been flipped yet. I was only going through the motions and was not fully engaged or committed to being my better self. I was a self-imposed prisoner in an ever-growing body.

This morning right before waking I had a dream where I was thinner. Not completely thin but at least thinner than I have been in most of my other dreams. I was thinner and I was flying. Sort of. Not really flying like Superman but more like the movie “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon”. Sort of like levitating while in a forward motion. I would shuffle my feet quickly and I began to leave the ground. I then started bicycling my legs and I got a little higher off the ground all the while moving forward. Maybe I got as high as 6 or 7 feet towards the end. These episodes of weightlessness would last for durations of what seemed like 5-20 seconds. When I landed I said to those unrecognizable faces around me “I’ve always been able to do this, I just didn’t know how until now.” Then I awoke.

It’s freeing to be able to fly in a dream. To feel like you are light enough to leave the ground. To let go of the weight of the things that hold you down. To be able to propel yourself forward from the things that hold you back.

For two weeks my weight has pretty much stayed steady. It’s gone up some days and gone down others but it hasn’t dropped to a new low. Today that changed and my sleeping mind knew it before my scale did. Again, the mind/body connection at work.

“All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible.”
– T.E. Lawrence

What do you dare to dream today? What do you dare to dream for your life? Flip the switch in your brain that tells you “no”, the one that says you are a failure. This is where all roadblocks come from. Flip that switch. Make up your mind one final time to “get all in” and take a step. The most important step. The step that needs to be taken for any race to be won. The first step. Take that step and come fly with us, the dreamers who dream with eyes wide open.


Actions

Information

4 responses

4 04 2012
savethekales

Brings tears to my eyes. Thank you sharing and for that burst of inspiration. We really are so much more powerful than we know. ā¤

4 04 2012
johnnygee77

And thank you for being a bright shinning light for those who are coming out of the darkness.

19 04 2012
ahyesplans

I just found your blog, and I love it! Last year I gained weight and recently have been able to keep it off in part due to going vegetarian/vegan (vegan only at home). I really enjoy reading your blog, I know it’s going to keep me on my toes!

But back to why I commented on this post- when I was going through my weight loss, I too had dreams where I was thinner. And it put me in such an infinitely happy mood for the rest of the day even if I hadn’t lost that much weight, because I knew my body knew I was losing weight.

Anyway, great reading your blog, thanks for sharing your journey! šŸ™‚

19 04 2012
johnnygee77

What a great comment, thanks for reading!! Welcome aboard!

Leave a Reply

