Flatlined

30 04 2012

And so begins week 19 of my switch to a plant based diet and an increased exercise regime. This week I stayed the same weight which keeps me at 62 pounds+ lost. This is not good. It means that I’ve only lost a pound in two weeks. I have about 135 pounds left to lose so this is no time to stall out. It’s my fault though, I didn’t make the time to do as much exercise as I should have and I haven’t been taking in enough water. I’ve eaten too many cheat meals with bread and my body has been deprived of sleep because I am way over committed with different activities. All excuses but still a formula that adds up to failure. It creates a difficult environment for trying to maintain my weight let alone lose any.

The real fear though is failure. I lost a lot of weight once about 9 years ago. In about six months, I lost 65 pounds by doing a 30 day cleanse/fast followed by eating a mostly vegetarian diet. I believe that the fast further damaged my slow metabolism and eventually I went back to eating the wrong foods which resulted in my gaining all of the weight back and then some – probably an additional 45 pounds or more. And so that is the reality of these types of things, people lose weight and people fall off their program and gain it all back. I don’t want that to happen again so I must really force myself to stay determined and live the program that I have set up for myself. I want to push through the barriers.

I was fortunate to speak with current fitness and yoga guru, Diamond Dallas Page, at great length yesterday and we discussed my predicament. His advice was to eliminate wheat from my diet as it is highly processed in the foods that we eat. He said that at my age and weight, my body has difficulty breaking wheat down. He also suggest increasing his DDP Yoga workouts to 5 days a week for the next several weeks until it becomes more of a habit. If I do this, I should start seeing major results. So, I’m going to flip the script and see if I can get the weight loss working for me. If not, you will be witness to a failure of epic proportions. Fun either way, right? Stay tuned!

***huge DDP audio interview coming tomorrow!


Actions

Information

One response

30 04 2012
My Plant Based Family

Hang in there Johnny, you can and will succeed!

Leave a comment