Using Art to Capture Art

4 05 2012

I’ve had a lot of different opportunities to snap pictures lately. It’s something that keeps me feeling grounded and allows me to tell a story through my art.   My art is often taking pictures of other people’s art.  It’s so inspiring to try to capture someone’s passion!

Being creative is a good outlet for me and taking pictures definitely improves me well being. Lately my camera has been tweaking pretty hard and is in need of a major tune up – problem is that I have photography gigs lined up and can’t afford to be apart from it for 6-8 weeks. Maybe once June rolls around I’ll be forced to take a break. Either way for the time being the camera is limping along and getting progressively more dysfunctional. It’s a good challenge though to try to take the best pics I possibly can.  Even when it goes haywire (as seen in the second pic below), it can sometimes be made into art.

Two nights ago I had the honor to see an amazing live musical performance by Mike Watt, J. Mascis, Thurston Moore, Kurt Vile and a bunch of other talented folks. It was my great pleasure to be able to capture some pics of it all as it went down. I used the built in flash at times because real flash photography was not permitted.  The pics still came out pretty good.  Here are some of my favorites:

The show was in support of Watt’s new book: mike watt  on and off bass.  This book is full of Mike’s photography of his hometown (San Pedro, CA) as well as written excerpts from his tour diaries and interviews.  There is even some of his poetry in there.  The book really does well in capturing a part of who the man is.  You can order the book here (I highly recommend it – it’s fantastic!):

http://threeroomspress.com/

Brother Watt is someone I have a great deal of respect and admiration for.  A few years ago I payed him a compliment online and he offered to add bass to a song that my band had been working on/recording.  That meant the world to me and was one of the highest honors I could have as an artist.  In the end, Mike’s bass track got a bit muted when our album when out to mastering.  It’s there but not as up front as I would have liked.  This will always be a huge personal disappointment.  One day we will remaster that track and fix it.  for now though, it’s still decent and the demo (which uses his bass track) rocks.  i posted it on here several months ago.  The search box up top will help you if you are interested in hearing it.

Mike is a very busy man but it never prevents him from corresponding with me.  He is sometimes a sounding board and I appreciate it.   When he is on tour, I try to see him when possible.  After the show the other night he told me I was doing well on my “mission”.  That made me feel good.  It inspires and makes me want to pick myself up when I fall.  It inspires me to work harder at getting healthier.  Mike and I will be doing an interview here in the future.  In my mind at least, he is a bit of a philosopher.  So we are going to talk about art and life.  I look forward to it.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

